Posted by: sean | January 8, 2009

Joe the journalist

I got in last night after a grueling transcontinental flight on an American carrier that’s decided I’m a security threat and managed to lose my luggage twice in two weeks (Delta). Understandably, then, I’m still jet-lagged. The killing in Gaza has provided me with plenty of reading material while I think about having to be up in a few hours to go to work.

I’ve been reading Ha’aretz a fair amount, which has led to this gem of a story:

Joe the Plumber is taking on a new job.

The Ohio man, who became famous during the U.S. presidential campaign after asking Barack Obama about his tax plan, is heading to Israel as a war correspondent for a conservative Web site called pjtv.com.

Dubbed Joe the Plumber by McCain’s campaign, Samuel Joe Wurzelbacher was held up as an example of an American worker who would be hurt economically by Obama’s election.

Wurzelbacher says he’ll spend 10 days covering the fighting and explaining why Israeli forces are mounting attacks against Hamas.

He tells WNWO-TV in Toledo that he wants go over there and let their ‘Average Joes’ share their story.

Wurzelbacher later joined Republican John McCain on the campaign trail.

At one stop, Wurzelbacher agreed with a McCain supporter who asked if he believed a vote for Obama was a vote for the death of Israel.

In case you were wondering what pjtv stands for, it’s Pajama Media’s  online TV site.  And just in case you’ve forgotten, PJ Media puts out the uninformed pap of people like Michael Totten, whose blog I try not to link to for public health reasons.

I can’t wait to see his dispatches!

Responses

  1. Welcome back! Although technically you moved further away from where I am.

    I am getting a doze of American identity politics here, what with American Muslims for Palestine, Latinos for the repressed of the world, African Americans on the South Side of Chicago for the Gaza ghetto, and all sorts of things that can be packaged and marketed on a T-shirt. It is heart warming in its own way. Tomorrow we have panel with Finkelstein, Mearsheimer, and Abunimah in one go. I think I will pass for fear of overdosing.

  2. Dont know if you saw this, but I think Wonkette caught an instance of life imitating the Onion:

    http://wonkette.com/403984/the-onion-predicted-joe-the-plumber-crap-in-1993

    At least totten has some real competition, now.

  3. Ms. Tee: Allah ya salmik. I arrived in DC in time to briefly attend protests at the Israeli and Egyptian embassies, and while I support the sentiment, I am fundamentally uncomfortable with crowds of people, especially if they’re all of the same opinion and even if I share that opinion, more or less. But I will say that it was nice to hear some chants that started with, “Ya Mubarak, ya akrout!” I hope my native land is treating you well…

    David: It’s funny that you should mention the Onion, because when I sent this link to my friends, before posting it here, I had this to say: “This could have been printed in the Onion. Would that it were but satire.”

  4. Dont know if you guys saw this, but there is already a joethewarcorrespondent.com website.


Leave a Reply

Categories

