Posted by: sean | July 18, 2009

Sailing away

sailboatsIn the morning, before going to work or otherwise leaving the house, I like to watch television news in English while having some coffee or eating a little breakfast. Since our cable doesn’t have Al-Jazeera International, this means that I have to choose between BBC World and CNN International. Often enough, the time when I’d like to see the headlines of the day is the exact same time that both channels insist on reporting on sports. I appreciate that many people like to keep up with the world of sports, but personally, I have no real interest in football, much less women’s tennis. So often enough, I end up watching France 24 in French instead, which is actually not bad at all.

Now, I can see the value in sports journalism. In fact, one of the most important people in my life is a sports reporter. So like seafood, scuba diving and the salsa, I can understand the interest even if I don’t share it myself. But what I can’t understand is that CNN has an entire show devoted to sailing. All this is kind of a grumpy preface to my annoyance at turning on the television to see what happened in Iran yesterday,  but instead getting this.

Is there really a big enough audience for a show about sailing? Don’t get me wrong, I wish I had a boat, but not enough to spend my morning watching a television show about it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

