Posted by: sean | August 6, 2009

Wal-Mart – 1, Girl Scouts – 0

I know I should be outraged and should be fighting the corporate takeover of delicious cookies and scouting and whatnot, but the American consumer in me has always secretly hoped that something like this would happen, just so I wouldn’t have to rely on the economic foresight and dietary discipline that it takes to freeze boxes of thin mints for survival in the off season:

Wal-mart has copied the Girl Scouts’ two best selling cookie types, Thin Mints and Tagalongs.

Wal-mart is selling Fake Girl Scout Cookies.

Wal-mart has  fake Girl Scout cookies in ‘beta’ distribution, on their way to a national rollout. Because the cookies are ‘reasonable facsimiles’ of the authentic Girl Scout cookies (I sampled them myself at BlogHer ‘09 last week) and are being sold at an everyday low price, these cookies are poised to snatch cookie sales right out of the hands of the Girl Scouts themselves.

I admit to always feeling like the girl scouts are shaking me down, at $3.50 a box, and they never seem to be on sale when I want to eat them. Now if they could just make a knock off of the Samoas, I’ll be happy.

Besides, anyone who tries to sell cookies like this deserves to get screwed by Wal-Mart:

Leave a Reply

Categories

