Posted by: sean | August 20, 2009

Bat-shit crazy in America: where at least I know I’m free

Lately, I’ve been paying more attention to the health care “debate” in the US more than I have local politics here, so I haven’t been posting much, because health care isn’t within my field or this blog’s purview. I will say, though, that there has been a lot of bat-shit crazy talk coming out of the anti-reform camp, which involves forced euthanasia, a Muslim takeover of America and declarations (from people in my family) that the US is exactly like Germany in the late 1930s.

While the culprits of the bat-shit crazy talk in the domestic arena are often the same people spouting the foreign policy version, it’s not often that I get to link the two together. This video, and awesome commentary from Gawker, allow me to do so, if only because of the irony of an American woman wearing an IDF t-shirt yelling “Heil Hitler” at an Israeli Jew who has the temerity to suggest (albeit in a somewhat confusing way that has something to do with supporting the troops) that national health care is a good thing.

When the Israeli screams at her for shouting “Heil Hitler,” the clearly bat-shit crazy woman claims, “you ought to be the most against Obama,” (presumably because he’s Jewish and Obama is obviously a Nazi?), while over the loud speakers Lee Greenwood sings, “I’m proud to be an American…”

Responses

  1. Sorry to intrdue with an unrelated, random comment but did you see this? http://www.martincmusicblog.com/2009/08/snoop-dogg-performs-in-lebanon-east.html
    Man is a genuis for those comments hahahaha.

  2. […] I was also recently pointed to this write-up (by Won in the comments) of Snoop Dogg’s recent concert at Forum de Beyrouth: The Doggfather hit the stage for 75 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

